anomorato

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Aug 26, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Does it really matter if I have taken a couple of my requirement courses (Organic I & II) at a community college? Considering that they were transferrable to the Uni I graduated from...

Has anyone taken courses at a Community College and gained acceptance to DO schools?

Thanks

Onstarr

10+ Year Member
Feb 5, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
I took Calc based physics I & II at a comm. college.

It seems like most schools didnt really care as long as you did well.

on top of that, if you did well on your mcats, it kinda shows that you understood most of the material.

Quakkilla

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Oct 29, 2003
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
I agree the MCAT is the key. I think that if you do well on the MCAT you will be fine. However, you get a low score in Biological sciences it is going to be harder to off set than if you took them at a University. Just my 2 cents.

About the Ads

kjaredhess

VCOM 2009
10+ Year Member
Dec 14, 2005
Blacksburg, VA
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
I went to community college for 3 years, transferring those to a 4 year college. I did good on the MCAT comparing with my class' average, but not what I would call exceptional. I applied to 2 DO schools, and was accepted to both. I don't think that it really matters where you took the courses.

Pugnacious

Wife studies; I just surf
10+ Year Member
Dec 29, 2006
Des Moines, Iowa
Status (Visible)
  1. Non-Student
My wife took over 1/3 of her classes at a community college (location was the main reason), and none of the med school interviewers said anything about it. They all complimented her on her 3.8+ GPA. I assumed that taking community college classes would be a negative but it seemed to not make a difference.

OnMyWayThere

OMS-III
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Apr 2, 2003
The best coast (west coast)
Status (Visible)