Community College pre-reqs for a Science Major

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheUmlungu

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So my story...I graduated with a bachelor's in Mechanical Engineering and a minor in Physics with mostly upper level classes, with a 3.75 gpa. I've been serving with the Peace Corps in South Africa for the last two years, working in a rural school and a couple clinics. Medicine had been in the back of my mind for years, but it's been as a result of my service here that I feel this is really the right path.

The problem is, I'm missing a few pre-reqs: the orgo and general bio tracks.

The rumor I've heard is that most schools don't like pre-reqs from a community college because they don't show a student's ability in a 'real' science course. Is this really the outlook? And if it is, would someone who already has a science degree (with some of the pre-requisites, like Physics and Gen Chem, completed) with a pretty strong GPA be able to take these courses at a CC and still be a strong applicant? Or, should a CC just be avoided at all costs?

Thanks for the information! It's definitely appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

CC classes are normally considered less rigorous (whether true or not), so that is why they are looked down upon. Med schools want to see you can handle the rigor. But in your case, 3.75 in mechanical engineering is pretty good, so clearly you can handle the rigor. I am not 100% sure. I recommend against CC classes mainly because you want to set yourself without any complications. Is it possible? Absolutely. But in a process that is highly competitive, the smartest option would be to set yourself up with the best possible odds. If uni classes can be taken, they should be. But if there isn't any other options, make whatever you have work.

x

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)