Community College to Pharmacy school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Diamondeve21

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a student at a community college in CA. My current GPA is 3.8 and I also work at Wal-mart pharmacy. I plan to apply to pharmacy school in fall of 2006. Does any one what are my chances of getting accepted into pharmacy schools from community colleges? My top schools are the three yr schools w/o PCAT requirements such as MCPHS, USN, LECOM, Albany... I hear that w/o a bachelor's degree, I dont even stand a chance. Also the fact that Im from a community college which doesnt help my stat.. Based on your past experience, do I stand a chance? Im really really really worried... :( :scared: Please please give me some advice... Thanks for all your help!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Apply anyway when you're done with your prereqs. It couldn't hurt. I did a rotation at Wal-Mart with a student from Massachusetts' accelerated program. He's a Maryland resident and did his prepharm at a community college. Maryland didn't accept him, but he got into the accelerated program in Massachusetts and just graduated there this year. Pretty cool if you ask me -- finish a year sooner although he didn't get the benefit of in state tuition.

If you don't get accepted anywhere is when you should ask the schools what you could do to improve your chances -- be it taking the PCAT, doing more extra curriculars, or even taking some classes at a university, etc. Don't sweat it yet. Even though it's gotten competitive, there are still schools that will accept community college only grads.