Community College vs. University - MoneyMoneyMonaaaaay!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nevadanteater

biochemical engine
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm starting my pre-recs in January.

I can take biochemistry at the local university at a hugely inflated (?) price of $775/quarter or something.

I can take anatomy/phyisio at the local community college for the much more reasonable $150/semester or so.

Is community college the black mark that the people over in the pre-med forum make it out to be?

Money isn't a HUGE issue for me, though $775 would involve a strict tightening of my budget, and is probably money that i'd be using in the future for application costs...

I was a chemistry major for undergrad and did pretty well if that changes anything.

N/A

Members don't see this ad.

I can take biochemistry at the local university at a hugely inflated (?) price of $775/quarter or something.

I can take anatomy/phyisio at the local community college for the much more reasonable $150/semester or so.

Is community college the black mark that the people over in the pre-med forum make it out to be?

Money isn't a HUGE issue for me, though $775 would involve a strict tightening of my budget, and is probably money that i'd be using in the future for application costs...

I was a chemistry major for undergrad and did pretty well if that changes anything.

N/A

If money isn't a huge issue for you, then go with the university over the community college. Also biochem will be more useful to you in med school than the CC's A&P, but neither constitutes a prereq for most schools (biochem is required at only about a dozen).

I wouldn't worry about it too much and take the biochem if you were a chem major. As the previous poster said, A&P isn't required by schools (although some require upper level biologies) so I would just take the biochem and roll with it. :)