• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

DrDori

Feb 13, 2012
Status (Visible)
  1. Non-Student
I have some volunteering experience. Mostly community development:

• fundraising for a national development NGO working on local community development

• helping in blood donation campaigns at an NGO premises once per month for a couple of years

• sorting and distributing medications donated to poor families/neighborhoods

• volunteering in the equivalent of a "soup kitchen" for 2 months

is this enough for medical school?

i live in a foreign developing country so there should be many opportunities here but we do not have a system of volunteering at hospitals for non-doctors. what could be other acceptable clinical volunteering experience?

is research experience required? in what areas? given the i have a Bsc in electrical engineering

NickNaylor

Thank You for Smoking
Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
May 22, 2008
Deep in the heart of Texas
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
1) There's never really "enough" for medical school. Continue doing things you like and/or that are interesting to you. You should never stop doing ECs and other things to help build your resume, ESPECIALLY if you're a foreign student trying to get to the US as you'll already be at a severe disadvantage.

2) The mantra here is if you can smell a patient, it's clinical experience. You don't need to go to a hospital - a solo practitioner or private practice is perfectly fine.

3) Research experience isn't required but will help, especially at the top schools. Any field is fine.

About the Ads

DrDori

Feb 13, 2012
Status (Visible)
  1. Non-Student