1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Community service?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by ilop12, Jul 30, 2011.

1. ilop12

Pre-Medical
    I'm a sophomore in college, starting this fall term. What is a good community service idea? How long should I do it, what specifically looks good, when should I start? Thank you!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. torshi

torshi Squirrel
    5+ Year Member

if you haven't done any volunteer work start that. Hospital volunteer work, shelter work, shadowing physicians

4. paul411

paul411 ANES
    7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]

#3 paul411, Jul 30, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011
  5. ElCapone

ElCapone Don't Lawyer Me
    7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    1. Join a community service organization on campus.
    2. ???
    3. Profit

Wrong thread?

6. Catalystik

Catalystik Platinum
    Physician Faculty SDN Advisor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Ideally, you'd give your time to a cause you care about. For nonmedical community service, consider Humane Society, Habitat for Humanity, crisis hotline, soup kitchen, food pantry, homeless shelter. womenÂ’s shelter, after-school tutoring for middle school students, teaching ESL to adults, Big Brothers/Big Sisters, Meals on Wheels.

Longevity in an activity is desirable, so start soon.

7. mvenus929

Physician 10+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Fellow [Any Field]
    What looks good? Something that you do for enjoyment, not just to pad your resume.

You should do it long term, but don't continue to do it if you hate it.

8. isoquin

isoquin Allopathetic
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student