Comparison of the Dana Farber, MSKCC and Penn

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TCR255

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a 4th year med student applying for internal medicine and the physician-scientist track in hematology and oncology. This track allows residents to complete IM training in two years and move directly into fellowship, usually at the same institution (at some programs the fellowship is guaranteed obviating the need to even apply for fellowship). So, in compiling my IM rank list, I am also sort of deciding where I will be staying for fellowship and would like to understand a little better the differences between programs. The residency programs I am most considering are affiliated with the Dana Farber, MSKCC and Penn. At this point I am not sure whether I will want to specialize in liquid or solid tumors, but I do know that I want to run a lab with very translational focus. I’m curious how these programs differ in terms of breadth and quality of training opportunities (both research and clinical) and how they compare in facilitating the transition from fellow to faculty. Thanks for all your help!

Members don't see this ad.