compensation in academics vs community, 2016

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

illegallysmooth

Smooth member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey there.

I'm in my last year of residency and still debating if I want an academic or community job. I do have approximately 328 buttloads of loans to pay back, and I'm thinking about all the other factors as well. Can any recent grads who were on the job hunt in the last couple years give me an idea of what kind of gap they saw between the two? I'm going to be looking in Texas mostly, maybe the Carolinas. I understand there is more to compensation than salary, and more to job satisfaction than dollars in your pocket, but even a rough idea would help.

Thanks in advance if you can offer some insight.

EDIT
AAaaand even though I did a search, of course right after submitting the thread I see this one:
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/threads/compensation-the-real-story.1212158/

Very helpful, thank you. If anyone else has personal experience from the Lone Star State, that would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

You will always make a lot less in academics. For Texas a good academic job will get you around $300K. Private practice/locums can easily be $400K + depending on how much you work and location.

What I found helpful was shopping health insurance policies and the other things that come as a part of your benefits package in academics that you may not have provided in the community. Of course this is gonna vary by state and your medical history etc but for me the cost of obtaining my own benefits/saving for my own retirement were a whole lot less than the difference in salaries between academic and community jobs. So financially it wasn't even close for me, I'm making out a lot better in the community all things considered. I work in the Atlanta area so for me that pretty much just means Emory vs the surrounding community shops/groups.