Computer Science!!!!!!!!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

danman

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm thinking of doing a BS in computer science, since half the wanna be doctors in here discouraged me from doing biochem??? What does everyone think about Computer science???
This way I can get a job if I dont make it.....and not have to work in lab.

If you're going to discourage me from this too...
(maybe because of the excess of unnecessary math and the waste of a year of my trying to do the actual pre-reqs for medicine)....then please suggest another degree I can do...

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't listen to people on here and take everything as truth. If you have a passion for biochem, then I say go for it, that is why I did a molecular biology degree. But if you are doing it as the right thing to do for a premed, then it is probably not a wise desicion. Computer science is a very good premed major in my opinion, as well as computer engineering, since it allows you to do a lot with it in case you don't get in the first time around. But when it comes down to it, major in what you want to study and what interes you.

danman said:
I'm thinking of doing a BS in computer science, since half the wanna be doctors in here discouraged me from doing biochem??? What does everyone think about Computer science???

(maybe because of the excess of unnecessary math and the waste of a year of my trying to do the actual pre-reqs for medicine)....then please suggest another degree I can do...
I highly recommend putting up a poll. Maybe it should be an eBay auction. You could probably make money from this - "Highest bidder gets to pick my major!"

Members don't see this ad :)
danman said:

if something like too much math is what prevents you from pursuing a comp sci degree, then don't it.