Confused about what to do with my life

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Alternative Facts

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a new member here, and I'm a sophomore studying Chemical Engineering at a large state school. I initially was set on going to medical school, but now I've lost much of that motivation (I don't even really know why--perhaps the engineering curriculum and some research I do diluted my focus). I have pretty extensive research experience (second author on a computational protein-ligand docking manuscript), and I have most of the necessary pre-med coursework (it's conveniently built into my major), but I lack any significant volunteering or clinical exposure. Since I also have a high GPA, I'm in a bit of limbo; I'm still somewhat competitive for medical school, but I don't really have much passion for it. My backup plan is to get a PhD in some bioengineering related field and get a career in academia, but I feel uncomfortable making that decision now because I might develop a passion for medicine again. I don't want to throw away such an opportunity.