~Confused on what I should pursue!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sbarnes

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

As of now I am a junior in undergrad school doing nursing courses (Pursuing RN, BSN). It seems to be going well so far but I am stongly considering Grad school. As of now I plan to pursue the DNP/NP. I know the whole story on how DNP's are wanting MD status and I would not want to be seen as a DNP who knows everything. If I back out now of the BSN and change to Pre-Med and and pursue a PA, would that seem more rewarding for me?

Also, I am more interested in the sciences (such as Pathophys and anatomy) but I really like taking care of patients (even being a CNA/MT-I get that thrill of one-on-one care).:p

Another thing, if I may add, How long does one go to Med School to become a PA. Becoming an MD/DO for me is not something I really want because of costs and the liability.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

pa school is 2-3 yrs long depending on the program.
you will get more hard science out of a pa program than an np program if that interests you.
you can still get the bsn and work for a while using that to gain experience for pa school. lots of pa's are former nurses.
for a pa specific forum see www.physicianassistantforum.com
good luck whatever you decide.

You don't go to med school to be a PA. You go to PA school - usually either a 5 year combined bachelors/masters program or a two-year masters following undergrad.