Confused on what to do this Summer (Deciding b/w 2 opportunities)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Spongeman7

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, so I am currently a sophomore going to be junior and am on summer break. I applied for and got into a fellowship/internship clinical opportunity with a major healthcare network where I will be going over clinical research studies, shadowing physicians, sitting in on clinical meetings, etc. It is unpaid. I recently also got a call from a pediatrics doctor's office that said they have a paid position, where I would take children's blood pressure, height, weight, etc. (kind of life a medical assistant). I am very confused of what to do, should I stay with the unpaid internship or should I work at the pediatric office? The pediatric office would be paid, I would probably have more patient interaction, and interaction with children. If I did the internship, I would have more research experience, be able to shadow procedures, and the internship provider has a very big and good reputation in the healthcare industry. I would thoroughly enjoy doing either but which would look better on an application? I very much appreciate any advice anyone has to offer. I am also very grateful for getting these two opportunities and just want to make an informed decision. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.