Confused PreMed: Strong Academic Record, Unsure of Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sshidid

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

So a little about myself... I am a Biology premed student at an unranked college with a close to perfect GPA and double minors. I have done well academically, gotten glowing LOR's from even the toughest professors at my college, and am a leader of 3 clubs.

This past summer, I luckily received an internship at a top pharmaceutical company and have been doing quite well. I’ve been working here for a few months now and have gained unbelievable lab skills. However, this internship requires a huge chunk of time out of my schedule. As a result, I have neglected my clinical duties. I did however work as a health home aide for a god chunk of time, but did not work with any doctors.

A few things frighten me about the notion of applying to med school:

1- I believe I am a bit “immature”. I’m not referring to my character, per se, but I am still having a difficult time answering the question: “Why medicine?” I still believe I am a bit too young and inexperienced to answer this question.

2- My premed committee is inexperienced, a bit discriminatory, and blatantly condescending.

3- I feel like a need a huge chunk of time to study for the MCAT

However, I do have a solid academic record and professors ready to back me up, saying I do have the mental capacity to tackle on medical school.

Ok, so here is what I am still unsure of doing after undergrad:

1- Obtain an MS

a. I do love working in a lab, though I find it stressful at times and can not imagine doing this for the rest of my life.

2- Obtain an MPH

a. I love culture and history. My two minors are History and International Business. I dream that I will work in the health sector across seas. However, I am graduating my undergrad debt free and will have a great GPA. Do I go into debt for such a degree?