Confusing situation on hospital volunteering. Please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Medigal

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a sophomore in Arizona and I started volunteering at a local hospital near my campus in the spring of my freshman year. I started out in January 2019 and continued until March 2019 for the Patient Care Unit position. The hospital used to use volgistics for tracking hours and signing up for shifts. My volunteer coordinator left the position in April and I could no longer sign-up for my shifts. I tried contacting the hospital during the summer after my freshman year and no one got back to me so I applied to other hospitals around and got a position but it was only the front desk so I declined. Meanwhile, a new volunteer coordinator got hired in august 2019 at the previous hospital and I finally was able to contact her. I explained my situation and she assured me that I will not lose my hours from spring. The problem is she has replaced the volunteer hour tracking system and the past hours are now in an excel sheet. She is also less flexible with hours which means I have to wake up early to volunteer but at the front desk. The other positions are almost non-existent or odd hours as one location of the hospital got shut down. So I did not end up volunteering until November 2019 till present.