Quantcast

Considering Medical School, Appreciate Your Thoughts and Insights

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sapperoth

Reaction score
Hello SDNetwork,

I hope you are all well! I am writing because for the last couple of years, I have had the thought of completing pre-requisite coursework and applying for medical school. I have some concerns and I realize that ultimately it is my decision, but I was hoping to get some perspectives from some of those that are already in the field and might have some additional knowledge for me to consider as I navigate through the decision-making process.

I have been told by some colleagues that at this point I would be considered a 'non-traditional student' (totally coming to terms with that right now, ha). I am 26 years old, and am a licensed psychotherapist via the field of counseling. I hold a masters in Clinical Mental Health Counseling, and am currently in a PhD program for Counseling.