Considering postbacc..... is it worth it, and what is the best way?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lucy_less

Reaction score
Hello! I am graduating this summer from a great university with a great GPA, but my degree is in the humanities. I have regrets about not doing premed -- I started out wanting to do it, had worked extensively in medical jobs and as a scribe and had a lot of personal experience with the field as well. But I struggled with science classes, which were weed-outs at my university, partly due to chronic medical problems as well as mental health challenges.

Now that I am graduating and looking at jobs, I am realizing medicine is the only job I would really be excited about (besides doing a PhD in the humanities, but unfortunately there are no career prospects there). I considered nursing school, but would really love to be a physician so that you can manage a case for yourself and engage in medical decision-making at a high level. I know the field inside and out and am confident in what it entails. I love the lifestyle of working with patients and of seeing new things and new cases every day. I feel most at-home in hospitals and clinical settings and like this is where I am supposed to be. I find the corporate world soul-crushing by contrast.