Considering Reapplying. Is it worthwhile? Any advice would be helpful

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Killer12

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I applied to 7 MD schools September of my senior year of undergrad at UNC-G. I ended up interviewing at ECU, UNC, and OSU. I got waitlisted and eventually rejected at UNC and OSU. I graduated in May '14 and spent most of the year trying to stay on my feet and and find a decent job to support myself. I worked at a summer camp and then a minimum wage job for a few months until I finally landed a decent job with the Red Cross about a month ago. Now that I'm in a stable position and have some money to afford the process, I'm considering reapplying to MD and DO schools.

I know I haven't greatly improved my application with graduate school or a crazy life experience, so would it be worth my time and money to reapply this year? Its still my dream to become a doctor, but all I have to offer this year is much more maturity. However, I know my first go 'round I applied late and didn't consider DO schools, so that is where I'm hoping for a better chance.

If I do reapply, I plan to apply to mostly DO schools, maybe a few MD schools. Should I make my EDP school one that I already interviewed at or completely different one?

B.A. in Biology, minor in Chemistry
GPA - 3.77
MCAT - 32
No Research Experience (employed throughout college to support myself)
Volunteer - 100 hours in a local hospital, 50+ at church events, 20+ after school tutoring, 50+ teaching music to kids
Employment - Music Teacher, Resident Advisor, Camp Counselor, Golf Course Technician, Lab Technician

Members don't see this ad.

Your ECs are rather cookie cutter and your stats are, well, ~average. You had several interviews at your state schools, and got shut out, so you need on improving your interview skills and your app for MD schools.