1-16-17-32

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 7, 2004
Status
As everyone knows, interest rates are going up on July 1, and it would be quite advantageous to consolidate and lock in the rates before they jump. I have a couple of questions and ideas regarding this

1) If Icannot consolidate while you are still a full time student and in defferment, if I graduate on June 1, will I be able to consolidate my loans in time before the rates go up? How long does it take to complete the application process.

2) Assuming that I would not have enough time what about the following:
Right now my loans are in deferment since I am a full time student. However, my loans are scheduled to go into the grace period in the next month, even though I am still a full time student, since I didn't resubmit the paperwork for the deferment for this year yet. As soon as they go into grace, can I consolidate even though I really am a full time student, since they dont know I am? This way I will be able to consolidate in time before the new interest rates.

Any answes or comments are greatly appreciated.

OP

1-16-17-32

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 7, 2004
Status
Also, can I send in the application form now, even though I am a full time student, to consolidate for after I graduate?

GeneGoddess

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 2, 2004
Status
If you are CURRENTLY a student, you can only consolidate through Direct Loans (part of the US gov't). AFTER you graduate, you can consolidate with any FFEL lender. You should be able to consolidate with a FFEL lender between June 1 and July 1, but you can't apply "early" because they will reject your app. if you are still classified as a student.

Not sure about the second question and I wouldn't want to give you false info.

usfgator

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 13, 2001
Fl.
Visit site
Status