Continuous research in one place or a variety?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

connieyayy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a sophomore doing my first semester of research. This summer I wanted to go to another state (personal/financial reasons) and hopefully find research to do there, as well as study for my MCAT . However, I am also planning on studying abroad the fall semester of my junior year. I will be doing research that semester as well, but obviously not with the same professors.

My goals are to try and get something published around the time I'm applying for med school, which would be 2017.

That would give me 2 sophomore semesters and 1 spring junior year semester with my current PI, as well as a summer and 1 semester at other labs. Does this seem too.... frivolous? Like, would it be better for me to stay with the same lab this summer instead of going somewhere else? I will be trying my hardest to make sure the topic I'm researching stays constant of course, but it may not be exactly the same.

Do adcoms prefer that you stick with one lab your entire career? How necessary is it to get something published?

I'd really like some outside advice about this!

Members don't see this ad.

Certain people get published after a semester or two of 10h/week, and others don't get published at all after 4 years of 30h/week. It's a huge crapshoot.

If you want to maximize your chances, aim for a lab that publishes a lot. When I started looking for research positions, I noticed that some of the PI hadn't published in two or three years, whereas others published 15 papers a year! Your odds of getting a publication in the first case are pretty abysmal, no matter how hard you work.