Contract Job: Is There a Catch?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

edieb

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a prescribing clinical psychologist (PhD, MP) in New Mexico who runs my own PP. I was recently contacted by a recruiter who wished to utilize my services 40 hours/week. The contract pays extremely well, around $153/hour. There are no benefits except 10 paid days off. However, with that kind of money I can easily continue to pay for my own health benefits which are $190 a month. I have never done any contract work so I am wondering if there are any other catches I need to be cognizant of???

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I am a prescribing clinical psychologist (PhD, MP) in New Mexico who runs my own PP. I was recently contacted by a recruiter who wished to utilize my services 40 hours/week. The contract pays extremely well, around $153/hour. There are no benefits except 10 paid days off. However, with that kind of money I can easily continue to pay for my own health benefits which are $190 a month. I have never done any contract work so I am wondering if there are any other catches I need to be cognizant of???

Thanks

How the hell do you have an health insurance premium that low?

Thanks

Pretty awesome salary and similar to what psychiatrists are making per hour. Can they send you the contract? I would read it carefully and run it by a colleague or lawyer. I would also google the company name and see what you can find out about them.

It's tempting to move to New Mexico and do the MP program!

Yeah, I'm also wondering about the health insurance. I paid the same per month while employed as an intern!

Members don't see this ad :)
typos about the health insurance, it is a tad higher but still the amount of the contract negates the cost of buying my own health insurance