Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Controversial Presentations--your thoughts

Discussion in 'Radiation Oncology' started by Reaganite, Jul 25, 2006.

1. Reaganite

Reaganite Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I will be doing an elective rotation in my school's radiation oncology department. I know that I will have to give a presentation, so I figure that I might as well prepare one now while I have some time. I go to an institution that is one of the few centers in the world to use a certain type of radiation treatment. (I'm trying to be non-specific!). There was a recent article in the Red Journal questioning the use of this therapy. I would really like to give a presentation that relates to this article as I have a lot of experience with the treatment that the author is questioning. I am concerned, however, that I might be setting myself up for a big fall as many of the doctors in the department have, from what I hear, defended the treatment at national conferences with their lives! Any thoughts?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. MuDPhuDShane

MuDPhuDShane Junior Member

Medical Student
    I don't see a problem with presenting the article. If you also support the therapy, you may want to briefly present or at least introduce additional literature which supports the treatment--this way, you're showing your support of the therapy and its clinical value, and hence, you may score some "brownie points" ;)

4. Gfunk6

Gfunk6 And to think . . . I hesitated
    Physician PhD Faculty Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved

Attending Physician
    Weren't you in the department where you couldn't do research b/c some faculty felt they were "burned" in the past by med students going elsewhere for residency? This fact, coupled w/ the fact that some faculty defended a certain therapeutic modality "with their lives" = unecessary risk.