cook county, now PGY1-4

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted52758

Cook County is making the move to a PGY 1-4 program, starting with this upcoming entry class of 2008. Our program plans to take 8 people for the categorical pathway, and seven people for the Advanced PGY 2-4 pathway. The following year, we should be taking 15 PGY-1's per year.

if you have any questions, feel free to PM me

Members don't see this ad.

so they'll be matching both programs? currently on ERAS there is an option for either "advanced" or "physician only". I'm guessing the latter is the 1-4 program? Can we apply to both? Sorry, this just seems a bit confusing.

you can apply to both. i believe the advanced position # is for the 2-4 positions, and the physician only is for the 1-4. i could be wrong about this, as I am a resident, and not involved in that aspect of recruitment.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think this made an already great program an even better one. Too bad this happened a year after I applied. I loved rotating there. Aside from not wanting to stay in Chicago (after 5 years there), the fact that it was a 2-4 was a minor reason for me not ranking it 1. One of the best faculties I've had the pleasure to work with.

I just called Cook County ED Residency, and this was said to be false--was the person on the phone wrong?

I just called Cook County ED Residency, and this was said to be false--was the person on the phone wrong?

Very likely since the person that started this thread is one of the residents at Cook County.

all of these are very new changes, that are being announced. but yes, the person on the phone is misinformed. everything is being hammered out, but we got the word from our "state of the residency" address, at our retreat.