Costs and GPA Cut off

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shirochan88

The Canadian
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there I'm new to this forum

I'm a Canadian Student who is interested in medicine and just want to open all options

what is the expected costs per year for Irish schools

and what is the GPA MCAt cut off required for most schools?

and lastly do many canadians go back to Canada after wards or just go to US
seems like its hard to Canadians to get a Canadian residensy if their not in a Canadian Med School

any help would be great

Members don't see this ad.

Costs: Tuition this year was 25,000.00 euro, so about $39,000.000 Canadian after the exchange rate (I wish the Canadian dollar would go back up to where it was in the fall -we were briefly kicking ass, but now we have a really wimpy dollar again and it sucks!). Living expenses are highly variable, but if you live in residence in Cork it is about 5000.00 euro for the school year, and then you need about 300 euro/month for other stuff (it depends if you have any fixed expenses like asthma meds - they will drive the monthly amount up a bit, but if you are healthy and just need food and beer and the occasional movie you should be able to do that on 200-400 per month). Then you might also have to factor in interest on loans (if you are Canadian and do a line of credit from a bank you pay interest on it from the minute you draw on it to the minute it is payed off). Amounts for Dublin would be higher, especially for rent.