Could I still achieve the dream with this plan?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Spaceball1

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an undergrad going into my final semester. I am a health science major with a minor in biology. My main plan was to go for physical therapy. But secretly, I am in love with the idea of being a physician. Everything they do fascinates me. Plus I've learned so much already as I get A's in pretty much all of my sciences. I've paid particular close attention to A&P and other physiology classes as I've especially enjoyed them. But I haven't done any preparatory shadowing in the medical field at all nor have I taken orgo or the MCAT yet. My plan is to graduate, take organic part time, get some shadowing experience in, and study like a madman for the MCAT. Then apply late spring of 2018 to MD schools. My overall gpa is a 3.5. Is it too late to bother with med school? I am willing to do anything possible to get in. But will med schools look down on me because it will end up taking me an extra year to fulfill their prerequisites? I've worked part time for 6 years but I don't currently have any medical exposure other than 70 hours of physical therapy shadowing at inpatient rehab facilities. Any input appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

They won't look down on you. Read this website some more, take a year or two to finish prereqs, crush the mcat, and get some clinical experience. You'll be in a good place.

Reactions: 1 users
You can also delay graduating while you finish the pre-reqs. This would keep your fin aid situation stable for the moment and allow you access to priority registration. Probably easier than graduating and then dealing with loans coming due and being the last one able to register for classes.

Members don't see this ad :)