Could use some help after low boards

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jpmiz

M4
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I could use some help figuring out what to do. I’m a DO student and I got my USMLE and COMLEX scores back this week and dropped significantly from practice tests. UWSA2/NBMEs and my COMSAEs were predicting high 230s and high 600s respectively and I ended up with a 207 and a 481. I have no idea what happened or how I could have prepared any better. I thought I was ready. At this point I’m just hoping to match into any psych program. I’m from the Midwest so any programs there would be great.

I know standard advice is to do better on step 2 but with practice tests not being predictive for me at all this time around, I don’t know how much I can do and I’ve lost confidence.

I’ve been interested in psych since day one so I have a fair amount of ECs to show dedication to the field, but can anyone offer me any other advice or give me an idea of any programs I may be okay to match to?

Thanks everyone!

Tl;dr Boards very low, DO. Hoping to match anywhere. HELP!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Apply broadly in the Midwest. Region wise, it is the least competitive so that is a plus for you.
Do you know of any in particular that aren’t very competitive?

Members don't see this ad :)
Do you know of any in particular that aren’t very competitive?
USD, UND, there’s a newer community program in Des Moines, Creighton, U Illinois Peoria, KCUMB - those are just a few I can randomly think of off the top of my head.

Last edited:
So the good news is that you've demonstrated interest in psych since before you received your disappointing test results, and that will help. You'll want to reference that in your statement. Also, you're in the Midwest, which (aside from Chicago) is generally less competitive overall.