counselor suggest to not apply for 3rd time and improve my app first.

mikexima

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jul 2, 2007
Status
Pre-Dental
So I applied in 2008 for 2009 cycle with AA18 TS19, cGPA 3.1 and University GPA of 3.6........ no interviews received!!! I was an undergraduate

Then I applied again in 09 for '10 cycle with AA17 TS 18 on second try and cGPA 3.3 and University GPA of 3.6....... I still havent had a single interview over the course of two cycles and this cycle is pretty much over too.

only major changes between the two cycles were 80 hours of volunteer work at UCLA dental, about 100 extra hours of shadowing, raising cGPA by .2 and taking dat for the second time which resulted in a lower score, i also finished my BA meanwhile.

I spoke to my counselor today and she mentioned that I should hold off on reapplying this year and retaking DAT because I need some major changes to my app as its not strong enough. I scored 15-16 on RC and QR both times and that along with my GPA is the main drawback. she says that I need to come up with impressive changes......

So my options are:

A) postbach Certificate for prehealth professionals. A 24 unit program at a local university where you take upper division bios that is designed to prepare you for MED/Pharm/Dental. will take about a year and a certificate is given to you.

B) go for a masters in public health that will take about two years.

I absolutly hate to think that I have to go through this much more schooling before actual dental school and the insane tuition that comes along with these programs.

I have strong volunteer/work experience but lack a solid DAT/GPA........what do you guys suggest and would do if you were in my shoes?

Last edited:
Nov 20, 2009
Status