Courses to take before MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

skyee

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am currently a freshman, and contemplating pre-med.

By the end of this semester, I will have completed a year of English and a year of Calculus.

I have not taken any Science courses, so I am somewhat behind.

My plan as of now is to take Bio I, and GenChem I in the first semester of my sophomore year, and Bio II and GenChem II in the second semester.

Then, my junior year, I would take the Organic chem requirements.

That still leaves me with Physics. I am afraid to take Physics the same year as Organic Chem (for obvious reasons).

Does this lead me to a huge disadvantage for the MCAT?

What do you guys recommend I do? Should I take Physics as a summer course this summer? Or is that looked down upon?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't really recommend deciding definitely on medicine until you have taken a college level biological science. Sure you might have liked high school bio, but once you get to university you might not enjoy it.

Physics is essentially 1/2 of the Physical science section, so I would recommend taking at least a semester of physics. You could take 2 courses of bio, chem, and physics in your second year, that way you can concentrate on organic in third year. What faculty are you in? It sounds like you are a non-science student.

People seem too afraid of organic chem for some strange reason. There are people who do bad in it, but like all things, if you put in some hard work, you will do well. Don't let it freak you out. You might even enjoy it.