COVID-19 & Clinical Practice Changes?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

summerbabe

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a VA staff psychologist and a ton of veterans are older and have underlying medical conditions that may decrease their recovery prognosis should they contract COVID-19. Since social distancing and staying away from higher-risk public spaces are good common sense measures, I'm curious to hear about any hospital/mental health-specific changes that are being discussed or implemented at your sites, especially you work at a VA.

Are groups still running? Are patients with complicated medical pictures being cancelled or rescheduled further into the future? Are there significant shifts to telehealth? Is this even being talked about among staff at your site?

Our VA medical center has been holding regular town hall meetings to discuss updates in hospital policy but so far, mental health leadership has been quiet (there's been a single 'business as usual' Friday afternoon email blast). There was a physician-only meeting yesterday to review primary care responsibilities and possible policy changes but no changes have been announced yet.

I'm also currently in a state with minimal confirmed COVID-19 cases (but also barely any testing) and a population that can be rather dismissive of this pandemic.

Members don't see this ad.

Wow I’m surprised things have been so quiet! I feel like I’m getting so many emails everyday about preparation and procedure changes that I can barely keep up with them. However, I’m in a state with many known cases. Psychotherapy is being offered via phone or VVC as an alternative to vets who want that instead of in person. Most groups cancelled. Other types of psychology clinics appear to have changes coming as well. Everyone is getting set up with remote access as well.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN

Reactions: 1 users