Crap! I think I'm in love

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drtx

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I freakin' love transplant surgery. It has everything I love about medicine, surgery. I am married, female and have 2 school age children....I haven't been this giddy since I was a 3rd year med student on my first gen surg rotation!

Not that you all care, just felt like I needed to say that. ( should I jump up and down on a couch now so that I certify that I am out of my mind?)

Members don't see this ad.

I freakin' love transplant surgery.

Nice! Yea, it's an awesome field.....:D

I am married, female and have 2 school age children....

Hmm...not so awesome. :scared:

I can't imagine anybody pulling this off, but good luck trying. You do know that most organs are harvested at 3 in the morning, and that you'll be riding in helicopters to get there...right? Oh, and the timing is almost never right, so prepare to wait half the night in some faculty lounge...and then to follow up with your patients for years and years after the operation, fighting a losing low-paying battle, while the organ you've implanted is slowly rejected.

I freakin' love transplant surgery. It has everything I love about medicine, surgery. I am married, female and have 2 school age children....I haven't been this giddy since I was a 3rd year med student on my first gen surg rotation!

Not that you all care, just felt like I needed to say that. ( should I jump up and down on a couch now so that I certify that I am out of my mind?)

Good luck with that.

After my month as transplant inten it took weeks before I stopped seeing tac levels in my sleep.

Sadly, the memories will be with me longer.

Members don't see this ad :)
The big turnoff to transplant for me is a lifetime of dodging hepatitis - what's your view on it?

Thank god, someone has to do it