Critics of the Medical Profession

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

I get accused, along with several other long-time posters, of being overly critical of the medical profession. Our criticism is often greeted with disdain or incredulity and many wonder why the tone of SDN seems to have become more negative over the years.

Consider this. I have been posting on SDN since 2001 and my first year of medical school. SDN has been around longer of course but back then there were far fewer members who had completed medical school, much less started residency. Like travellers to a distant and almost unknown land, we are now returning to tell our fantastic tales and as happens to many explorers, the stories we tell are not always believed.

Just keep that in mind. When I started the only place you could really get any information about medical school, residency, and the realities of the medical profession was to either have an "in" or to read the limited selection of books then available.

Members don't see this ad.

To be honest, I'm glad that you are "overly critical." I had a volunteer position at a hospital this summer, and the coordinator only brought people in who were absolutely in love with the medical profession and had nothing bad to say about it. So, it's refreshing to have people involved in the profession letting us know about all aspects of medicine, whether they be positive or negative. I know I'd be extremely pissed off if I got to medical school and had all of the negativity thrown at me without anyone letting me know ahead of time. At least this way I can't blame anyone but myself now if I get there and am shocked about how bad it is since I'm being made aware of it beforehand.

not everything is rosy, and people need to hear about the negatives to realize what they're getting themself into.

Members don't see this ad :)