CS Minor or Business Minor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CornellMan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current freshman majoring in biological sciences with a concentration in genetics and development, and I was wondering which one of the minors stated above would be more advantageous for me? Would one make me a more competitive applicant for jobs/graduate school? I have never taken a CS course in my life, but the courses listed seem fascinating. Also, would it be possible to land a job in bioinformatics with just a bachelors (assuming I go the CS route)? Thanks in advance for your responses.

Members don't see this ad.

Basket Weaving minor imo.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am a current freshman majoring in biological sciences with a concentration in genetics and development, and I was wondering which one of the minors stated above would be more advantageous for me? Would one make me a more competitive applicant for jobs/graduate school? I have never taken a CS course in my life, but the courses listed seem fascinating. Also, would it be possible to land a job in bioinformatics with just a bachelors (assuming I go the CS route)? Thanks in advance for your responses.

minors and majors don't matter...do whatever you like, don't do it for an "advantage." You're doing it wrong....

Business would be much more useful in the real world job market.

Business would be much more useful in the real world job market.

Very debatable. A good business program can teach you a great deal, but a lot of colleges have business programs that are nothing more than a set of glorified PowerPoint making classes. CS is much more standardized, and it could be useful in research. A lot of labs would kill for a good programmer.

Plus MD/MBA. There are no CS dual degree as far as I know.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using SDN Mobile

That's debatable. Computer science is also popular and pays quite well.