CSULB Pre Med Student getting Discouraged

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

westsidestoryz

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have been reading a lot of threads on here and outside SDN about CSUs Vs UCs and how the undergrad school you are from impacts the selection process.

It went something like this:
60% said school shouldn't matter as long as you are a top candidate (>3.5 GPA, MCAT score 30-45, unique EC activities)
40% said CSUs are a "lower" tier school so the science GPA from CSU vs UCs are viewed different. (Obviously a 3.7 GPA from a CSU is better than a 3.3 GPA from a UC, but a tied GPA would mean UC applicant would be viewed more favorably).

So I am currently attending CSULB and have a GPA of 3.4 with no sGPA since I am a non-traditional student. Hopefully I can get a 4.0 sGPA and raise my overall GPA in that way. (I'm guessing overall of 3.6-3.7)

I am also currently volunteering at a hospital in the Cardiology Unit working with patients and nurses. (100+ hours so far over 5 month period. (**Will continue to do this for another 6 or so months**).
I am also calling local clinics if I can shadow the doctors.
I am emailing a bunch of professors if I can be a Research Volunteer since the UC schools are research heavy. (tough since I am a non-traditional student and the department favors Bio majors)
I will also be traveling to Africa this winter to work with the local doctors and missionaries to help build schools, homes, and provide First Aid treatment.

I am doing the best that I can do get into my dream school (UCLA) and working really hard since I am a non-trad student. (I will also be applying to many different MD schools)

But with all these threads about how CSU schools are at a disadvantage over other schools is really discouraging me.

Can the SDN community clarify this statement?

As always, thanks for the timely answers

Members don't see this ad.