• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

Apr 24, 2012
Missouri
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Hey there. Hold on to your seat tight, these stats might blow you away :rolleyes:

After this semester I will be working with an AACOMAS cuGPA of 3.35 and a sGPA of 3.46, with no MCAT score until June.

As far as ECs go:

400 Volunteer Hours in ER setting over 1 year
80 Hours Shadowing Experience between Orthopedic Surgeon & Dermatopathologist
Pre-Medical Society Treasurer 1 year
1 Year Undergraduate Research with Microvascular Endothelial Cells and Focal Adhesion Kinase, with name mentioned in publication

My major is Cell and Molecular Biology, which has been a very course intensive major. The reason I switched from Biology to CMB was to increase my chances at M.D. schools, as my goal was to get into Mizzou (Missouri resident). Now I am pretty sure that dream is lost, but I still want to shoot for A.T. Still University and some other D.O. schools in the area.

What do you guys think? I know without the MCAT it is hard to tell, but I am a decent test taker, so if I try hard I could probably pull off a solid 30-32.

Also, the trend has been an upward one. My cuGPA is so low because freshman year I flunked out. Got carried away with having fun and didn't even realize what I wanted to do with my life. Since then, I have made Dean's list almost every semester and raised a 0.5 cuGPA to the 3.35 it is now... which I am proud of... :) but I doubt the ad coms will share the enthusiasm...

Juicec

Nov 10, 2010
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
I think you've done well for yourself given where you came from, in terms of freshman GPA I mean. Major is irrelevant so don't think CMB would of helped you towards an M.D.