Culture of/Market for Psychoanalysis in NYC vs. rest of U.S.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lexanoob

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I'm a resident at an NYC program and am considering pursuing training in psychoanalysis after residency. I've noticed differences in psychoanalytic training in NYC vs. in other cities, and have a few questions:

1) Is there any benefit to pursuing training at a program in NYC (where we have seemingly a large variety of psychoanalytic institutes with various different slants) versus at some other institutes in other cities of the U.S. What does this mean with regards to differences in training/ is it preferable to pursue training in NYC versus at institutes in other cities?

2) Additionally, some have mentioned that the only realistic market available for having a full-time job where you only do psychoanalysis is only in NYC, where people have cited a rate of at least $450/h per session. Would appreciate if any one can comment on the market for psychoanalysis anywhere else in the U.S.!

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.