Current Attorney, Former Bio Major, Seeking Guidance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

counsel1985

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a business litigation/transactional attorney. I've been practicing about a year and a half now, and finding that it's not for me. I'm in the early stages of a possible switch to medicine and am looking for some guidance on the academic element of applying.

I graduated in 2007 as a bio major. I had a 3.29 cumulative GPA in undergrad. My science/major GPA was in that same ballpark (don't really remember my transcripts too well, unfortunately). I had more like a 3.4 going into my senior year, but ran into some troubles that last year and the GPA took a bit of a dive.

I took and passes all the required prerequisites (a few A-'s, mostly B+'s, lowest grade was probably a B in Orgo 2), however did not take some of the other classes that some schools require, such as biochem and physio. Ideally, I'd like to retake my prereqs, both to boost my GPA and to reacquaint myself for the MCAT. However, since most of my grades are in the A- to B range, it sounds like this would be pretty much useless for MD schools and not too helpful for DO schools.

So, if I commit to this course, what next academically? Should I take physio and biochem at an undergrad campus to boost the GPA? Should I hunker down to just take the MCAT and see if I can get into a DO school? Apply to a postbacc (sounds like for many I'll have to have taken the MCAT already)? Or is there still some potential value in just retaking courses for the GPA boost?

Members don't see this ad.

If you're really interested in an MD program, then a SMP (preferably one given by a medical school) is your best bet. You can roll one yourself as a DIY post-bac.

With a 3.29 cGPA, you're actually fine for all DO programs.