Current Canadian Resident looking to transfer to an American residency: NOT this year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NotAnAmerican

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody,
Not sure if this belongs in this thread.
I'm a current Canadian PGY1 resident interested in potentially applying for an American residency to maybe start in 2022. (Fiancee is American and would really like to head back to USA in the next 2 years or so, maybe 3 years)
(Studying for USMLE's now)
I know COVID definitely makes this tougher.
I don't know if anyone has any experience with this, but any advice or previous success stories would be helpful.
I would be applying to a different residency than the one I'm currently enrolled in.
First year for us is a clinical year (rotations in IM CTU, Medical Oncology, Pediatric Oncology, ID, Endocrinology, Heme, Surgical Oncology, Radiology), but I'm a pathology resident, and I'd be applying to switch to either IM or Peds. (Waffled on Oncology vs. Pathology in medical school, ultimately chose Path, realized on Oncology rotations that we do in PGY-1 that clinical oncology is just a better fit for me, {originally went into pathology because of the interest in cancer biology})
Did well in medical school, but we don't have grades on our transcripts, just "comments". I did go to a 3 year medical school though.
I've been told that we can apply to ERAS as current Canadian residents, unsure if that's true, but would need a letter of support from PD.
(Just to be clear, I am a CMG, not an IMG)
Any thoughts?
Options include:
1. Apply to ERAS as a pathology resident in PGY2 to start in July 2022.
2. Switch to family medicine here (only 2 years), and apply to IM/Peds in USA to start 2024. Seems like I'd be unlikely to get a residency after this because I look like I'm waffling and can't make up my mind. (switch then another residency)