Current pharm techs, how muich is the base pay?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Carboxilic774

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, anybody here is working as a pharm tech? Could anybody tell me how much is the base pay? I have no experience in retail or pharmacy. What is the starting wage for a pharm tech with no experience? What do they pay after you get you certification?
THANKS

Members don't see this ad.

CARBON774 said:
Hello, anybody here is working as a pharm tech? Could anybody tell me how much is the base pay? I have no experience in retail or pharmacy. What is the starting wage for a pharm tech with no experience? What do they pay after you get you certification?
THANKS

When I started a year ago, my base pay was about 13.00

julierx said:
When I started a year ago, my base pay was about 13.00

One of my techs gets almost $14/hour, the other gets a little over $13/hour. They've both been techs for a while, are certified, and are members of the union.

Members don't see this ad :)
CARBON774 said:
THANKS

Depends on your state, which company, your experience level, and etc. But from your post I would say about $7-9/hr. You'll probably just start out as a pharmacy clerk. I have a full-time job and I work at a pharmacy part-time so I'll be in the "loop."

I talked to a pharmacist at CVS and he told me if I had no experience they would pay me 6-7 dollars an hour. I told him that I was accepted to a pharmacy school and then he said it would probably be 8 dollars an hour. Looking at Salary.com, the national average is just under 12 dollars an hour. I believe that this amount applies to those who have passed the Pharmacy Technician test, correct? I do have a year of compounding experience in a research facility, but I don't think CVS does that. How do you negotiate the higher salary?

CARBON774 said:
THANKS