Currently on LOA-Want to return but hesitant-Advice, Success Stories, Discouragement? All welcome

tristatenontrad

2+ Year Member
Sep 10, 2015
Status
Medical Student
Long time lurker, first time poster. I'll try to be as brief as possible without omitting relevant details but this will probably end up being a really long post. Thanks in advance for reading it and offering any input. I began MS-1 at an allopathic school last August (August 2014). I ended up taking a leave of absence from school in March 2015 about halfway through the second semester of MS-1. I burned myself out pretty bad and got to the point where I felt that it was necessary to take a step back and re-evaluate if I could really hack this med school thing. It wasn't a decision I took lightly, it certainly is not my proudest moment but at the time it felt necessary.

To give a little background I am a non-traditional student in my late 20's. All was well until anatomy started. I scored higher on my MCAT than I did on both my first Anatomy lecture exam and cadaver practical! I had no idea how to study and brute-force memorize in that way and spent the first few weeks accomplishing nothing. After the first unit I started getting tutored by an upper classmen, brought Netters and things turned around immediately. I pulled off the comeback of a lifetime and aced everything for the rest of the block and managed to pass the block.