Curriculum vitae - a little help, please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ToothMonkey

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in the process of updating my pathetic pre-dent resume to pass for a respectable CV. I have a few questions, and while I've googled up plenty of info on CV writing it would be nice to hear directly from others in my field.

1) Is two pages too long? I could probably squeeze it into one if that would be preferable.

2) Do I really need to describe any jobs I held prior to dental school, even if they had nothing to do with dentistry? It seems pointless to waste space trying to spice up a generic data entry position with resumese "action words" (like that's going to impress anyone :rolleyes:). OTOH, I have no employment experience in the field of dentistry (only volunteerism), so the work experience section of my CV will be pretty sparse otherwise.

3) Should I include a line on hobbies/interests? I've heard conflicting opinions on this.

4) Should I include a section for references (even if it only says "references available upon request")? Again, conflicting views here.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Members don't see this ad.