Dartmouth vs Case Western vs Emory

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

back2skewl

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I'm so grateful to have these options, but now the decision feels daunting. I don't expect to receive significant financial aid, so I'm assuming the cost will be similar between all of the schools. A little about me, I love the outdoors, I'm a non-trad student, I hope to practice primary care (probably internal medicine) in a rural area. I'd love any insight!

Dartmouth:
Pros:
1. The rural setting
2. Away rotations years 3/4 years (AI reservations, Alaska, California)
3. Only 1.5 years of preclinical courses
Cons:
1. The first two years are going to be in a super white & wealthy area
2. I've heard that Hanover/Dartmouth can feel WASPy

Case Western
Pros:
1. Case-based learning
2. Family in Ohio
3. Infrequent exams
Cons:
1. Larger class size

Emory
Pros:
1. Opportunities with the CDC next door
2. Good global health initiatives
3. Diverse clinical sites in Atlanta area
Cons:
1. Not many connections/family/friends in the area

Members don't see this ad.

If you don't mind the cold, Dartmouth is in a beautiful area for outdoor activities. The other two, not so much!

Reactions: 1 user