• A new admissions hurdle is becoming more common: the CASPer test. Learn more about it at a free webinar hosted by SDN and PrepMatch on May 6th. Register now!
  • Livestream AMA: Join SDN as we welcome Dr. John Ligon, a Pediatric Oncologist with the National Cancer Institute on May 11th at 8:00 PM Eastern. Register now!
Jul 2, 2020
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Dental
It's finally over.... I have my life back, and it feels great! I'll give a short breakdown of how I studied since I looked at probably 50 of these while I was studying.

Background, if it matters: 3.94 science gpa 3.96 overall

Materials: Bootcamp. That is all you need if you have a decent background in the sciences. Shoutout to @Ari Rezaei

Biology: I started out trying to take notes on the 120 page bootcamp bio notes, and quickly realized I was way too lazy to write out 120 pages. I read the notes 3-4 times through. The practice tests were extremely valuable for applying what you read to make sure you legitimately understand it.

Genchem: watch Mikes videos and take very thorough notes, review said notes as often as you can. Do all 10 bootcamp practice tests ( I did 1-5 separately and 6-10 as full-length tests) and learn as much as you can from them. I never scored above a 22 on any practice test and got a 30 on the real thing, which was waaay more simple.

Ochem: rinse and repeat from the genchem strategy.

PAT: Play the PAT game and do generators every day (like actually everyday). I plateaued at 20 on the full lengths and was able to score higher on the DAT. Practice is really the only key to this section.

RC: Use the bootcamp practice tests to figure out your strategy. There are a bunch of them out there so just find the one that works for you.

QR: I'm decent at math but despise it, so I just studied the bootcamp notes for it and learned how to do certain problems from the practice tests.