Dat done! 24aa/25ts/22pat

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SafetyDog

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!

Just finished the DAT and wanted to thank the SDN board for helping me get started with the DAT studying! I've never studied for a test this huge before and I have really short term memory, which made things really hard. But if you keep repeating mistakes, you will eventually remember them forever.

Here's my breakdown.

I felt the test was WAAAAAAAAAY easier than any of the practice tests including Bootcamp. I think I thought it was really easy because I saw 95% of the stuff on the test during my studies. The test is SUPER basic and straightforward and really, all you need to do to attain a higher score is to READ the question and make sure you know what its asking. Also, don't make silly mistakes.

Overall, I studied for about 2 months. The first month, I only studied about 1-2 hours a day RANDOMLY by watching Chad's videos. The second month, I took it up a notch and studied 6-8 hours a day.

The important thing to note is that when you're studying, make sure it's efficient and that you're not distracted. I took breaks whenever I felt like it, whether it be after 30 minutes of studying or 3 hours of studying. During this time, I would take a nap for quite awhile or do other stuff. Make sure you learn from your mistakes when you take practice tests.

Resources used:
Cliffs AP 4th Edition (4/10)
Kaplans Book (2/10) - Didn't really use besides to get acquainted with PAT and 1 reading passage
Ferali's Notes (10/10)
DAT Destroyer 2012 (8/10)
Math Destroyer 2012 (9/10)
Chad's Videos (15/10): Amazing, taught me mostly everything about gen chem and ochem. Chad, if you see this. THANKS SO MUCH! Also, Amy from ***********.com also answers questions promptly!