DAT's finally over....THE AFTERMATH

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

freedyx3

I'm Columbian
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all

Finally done with my DAT test which I took this past Sat. Wow what a huge gorilla off my back! Before I go into the details of my test and my thoughts on each section I want to first wholeheartedly thank everyone on this forum who have helped me along the way and graciously answered all my questions. I feel so extremely lucky to have you guys as my collegues and as my friends. It people like you guys that will make dentistry a great profession. Ok now on to the test........................

My Preparation: About 130 hours total over a 7 week period before the test. I studied mostly from the red kaplan book which I took notes on and went over about 4 times. Along with the kaplan book I briefly went over my past class notes. Two weeks before the test I went over the kaplan practice tests from the kaplan class, the topscore tests, and kaplan flashcards.

My Scores: I am very satisfied with my scores overall. I could have done better on PAT and math but oh well.

PAT - 19
QR - 19
RC - 24
Bio - 25
CHem - 21
Orgo - 23
Academic average - 22
Science average - 23

PAT section: I'd say compared to topscore and kaplan tests only the angle ranking section is harder. All the other parts are bout same. Not too bad just remember don't get caught up on any one question.

QR section: I really felt like i did better then a 19 on this section. I think the key to doing well in this section is to work quickly. If you get stuck on one question for more then 60 seconds then just put an answer in and move on. DO NOT get caught up on one question cause that will kill you.