decision time....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

springforward

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi guys, i need your advice:

i graduated from undergrad two years ago, but my undergrad gpa is not very good, its only a 2.8. :thumbdown:

i applied to a couple MPH programs with DAT scores and only got into New York Medical College. I've been taking some MPH courses part time and doing well in them to try to show that I can handle graduate level work. I'm not sure if i should take this acceptance or if i should keep taking some public health grad classes, take the GRE and try to do awesome on it and then re-apply again.

Please help! I can't decide. I don't want to be in the same boat one year from now with no acceptances after having taken more classes and the GRE! Should I just go to NYMC?

Members don't see this ad.

Well I just want to say that I've gotten into several programs and my GPA was no where near as high as many people on this board. I suggest that you take the GRE and do well. It's good that you've taken MPH courses, it definitely shows that you're capable and can only work in your favor. (You might want to see if you can get a certificate if you decide to hold off for next year).

I really believe that strong recs and a solid personal statement can make all the difference when applying to public health programs. However, it also depends on what concentration you'd like to go into. I think you should talk to admissions reps/counselors and maybe even profs at schools you'd like to attend, just to get a feeling of what's expected and what you can do to make yourself the best applicant possible.

Nothing is going to change your GPA really but it is most certainly not the end all be all.

That said, I know nothing about NY Medical College. I think if you see it as a good fit for you and it's accredited then you should perhaps consider it.