Deeply-depressed-need tips/advice tonic, here are my stats

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Timetight

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
My first post,

So, I'm get to the point. I'm a canadaian U1 student & a Quebec Resident. Just finished my first semester and have received so far grades for 3 of my 5 classes-which aren't spectacular:

Micro: B-
Lab: B+
Elective: B+ (and I was told to get less than an A would be "sad" well, I guess I fall into the "tragic" category)

The other 2 classes aren't up yet but no reason to hope they're that much better.

I am willing to work my but off for the rest of my degree-but be frank do I have a chance of getting into a medical school? i.e. pull my GPA up to something close to 3.7 on a 4.0 scale? (I am even prepared to venture into US territory)

Volunteering/shadowing-got some volunteering a year ago but no shadowing so far-planning to start this summer. Is it too late? I know we should do as many hours as possible but do you have a ballpark figure of hours to aim for as a minimum?

So please be frank: what are my chances & what should I focus on in the future to be competitive (if I can be at all) for med school?

P.S sorry if the post is a bit long.:(

Members don't see this ad.

My first post,

So, I'm get to the point. I'm a canadaian U1 student & a Quebec Resident. Just finished my first semester and have received so far grades for 3 of my 5 classes-which aren't spectacular:

Micro: B-
Lab: B+
Elective: B+ (and I was told to get less than an A would be "sad" well, I guess I fall into the "tragic" category)

The other 2 classes aren't up yet but no reason to hope they're that much better.

I am willing to work my but off for the rest of my degree-but be frank do I have a chance of getting into a medical school? i.e. pull my GPA up to something close to 3.7 on a 4.0 scale? (I am even prepared to venture into US territory)