Deferment/Forbearance of Undergraduate Loans

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedPR

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so I got accepted to medical school today (yay!!) and I'm considering not taking classes this Spring. Here's my situation in a nutshell. I graduated in 2010 and have been taking "post-bacc" classes at a community college to 1. raise my GPA, 2. prepare for the MCAT, and 3. hide from my undergraduate student loans. I've completed all my pre-reqs, I already retook the MCAT, and I've got several interviews so far so the only reason to stay in school is to avoid student loans. I have a full-time job, but I pay my own bills so I simply can't afford to make student loan payments.

I understand there is a "financial hardship" forbearance (deferment?) and I was wondering if I could do that from December 2012 all the way until I matriculate in July/August 2013.

Is that possible? I have loans through fedloan and sallie mae.

Members don't see this ad.

Congrats!

Options for deferment/forbearance on federal loans are spelled out at studentloans.gov. Private lender options are harder to figure out.

What you should be trying to get, imho, is a post-graduation 6 month grace period. You'll have to do the work to figure out if you're eligible, and to get the grace period to happen.

Thinking ahead, you cannot assume that you will be completely free of the requirement to make payments, as you transition to med school. You should assume that you will have to make some payments in the gaps between grace periods and deferments. Your med school money, and your med school deferment, may not come immediately - you may have to do work to get that deferment. And you are responsible (not your school, not the government) for pushing for that med school deferment.