MA/MS Demand for Graduate Students for PhD Programs

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by sdbmania, 09.27.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. sdbmania

sdbmania Psychology Graduate 2+ Year Member

Psychology Student
    A few months ago I graduated with a Masters in Psychology. I've been applying to jobs to teach psychology at community colleges, universities, and online. I'd like to spend some time teaching so I can pay down my student debt, but I'm thinking about getting a PhD down the line. I'm having trouble deciding what area to specialize in. I did apply to a PsyD Clinical Psychology program several months ago, but I decided that I didn't want it enough to add more to my debt.

I feel like I may be leaning more towards research. I'm volunteering at a university lab primarily to pad my CV when it comes time to apply for programs again. I was thinking about a PhD in Clinical Psychology, as it would be more research related and I could still get licensed if I decided I wanted to practice later on. But, in the event I decide I'd prefer research, I was wondering if there were any research PhD programs that are unable to get enough applicants. That way I could help fit a niche that is in need and specialize in something that I enjoy and find rewarding.

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. modestmousktr

modestmousktr 2+ Year Member