Dental mission opportunities?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Smooth Operater

don't bug "operatEr"!
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello guys! I am a pre-dental student who is hoping to travel around the world and provide free dental care for other people once I graduate from dental school and acheive a decent income. This is something that I long for in the future. I have few questions regrading dental missions, maybe you guys can help me out.

Is there a great demend for dental care internationally, esp. in third world countries?

Are there many current dental students with this kind of mindset, or are most of dental students just want to graduate, and make lots of money in order to pursue a good lifestyle?

For the current dental students out there, are there any clubs/organizations/programs in your schools send student to practice dentistry in 3rd world country during the break?

Are there Christian affiliated missions outta there for dental students (since I am a Christian)?

If possible, plz list down the links regrading oversea dental missions :D :love: Thank you guys!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey SmoothOp. I'm not too sure about post graduation, but I do know that some schools have "alternative" spring break where students to to underserved countries and provide dental care. I am a first year DDS student and have signed up to go to rural Mexico over spring break. Since I am only a first year my duties will only be to translate between the upperclassmen who provide the work and the patients and to do some light assisting. Looks like those 4 yrs of HS spanish and my undergrad spanish minor will finally get some use! I am not sure what schools have these kind of opportunities but I'm sure most do. BTW, it would make a great interview question to ask something like this to your interviewers. Good luck on acceptance!

Smooth Operater said: