Dental school after law school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LawyerLoser

Glutton for punishment.
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry for the lengthy post -

I’m thinking of doing something rather drastic, and I am hoping by posting here I can either be talked down from the ledge or encouraged to make the leap with conviction (sorry for the suicide analogy intro – keep reading and you’ll see why it’s appropriate to my situation).

Here’s my current state of affairs: I graduated law school in May 2013 in the middle of my class at a T4 school. I passed the July Bar Exam, but I have been looking for employment for the past 6 months and have had very few bites and am still unemployed. I have about $120,000 student loan debt that my parents are going to help me pay down in a lump sum by mortgaging some property they own because they can get a lower interest rate than I have on my loans (I’m extremely lucky, I know) and they can deduct the mortgage interest. But after that, any future debt burden will be squarely on my shoulders.