Dental Shadowing Opportunities in Philadelphia?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zj2234

Reaction score
Hello, I am looking to shadow/volunteer/assist a dentist in Philadelphia. I was hoping somebody could help me out with a connection to a dentist or dental group who helps potential students in this area as I am new to the area. I am having a lot of trouble finding somebody who is willing to let me shadow them.

I am currently a junior undergraduate who joined the pre-dental game late so I am a bit stressed as I do not have that many shadowing hours. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated thank you so much!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not from Philly, but you can try calling Temple Dental School and ask to be directed to someone who may have connections to dentists and or part-time faculty taking students to shadow. Another source can be the state Dental Assoc where there may be a network of dentists willing to accommodate you. Many community dental clinics allow job shadowing as well.

Reactions: 1 user
imo the easiest way is just show up to random dental offices.

come 15-20 minutes before they open and just say you are a pre-dent and wanted to see if you could shadow the doctor.

dress professionally, and I strongly advise against calling and asking them. They likely will not respond to your call as its a waste of their time, but they will likely say yes if you just show up.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I'm not from Philly, but you can try calling Temple Dental School and ask to be directed to someone who may have connections to dentists and or part-time faculty taking students to shadow. Another source can be the state Dental Assoc where there may be a network of dentists willing to accommodate you. Many community dental clinics allow job shadowing as well.
Thank you so much for the tips!